Minding momma


Menu Plan Monday
March 30, 2009, 12:59 am
Filed under: Menu Planning | Tags:

I have been lurking over at organizing junkie for a while now, getting lots of great menu ideas, and other inspiration.  Then this week on Operation Style, hubby and I saw the one day of cooking for one week of food.  This past weekend was a tremendous bargain in our area for meat and poultry, so we combined these to make a plan for us.

We are going to purchase while prices are insanely low, plan menus, freeze what we can, cook some meals in advance, and try to not buy groceries (except perishables, dairy, bread, and medicines) the month of April.

Wish us luck and we will keep you updated!  Monday we have to be at church at 7pm for Easter practice, so I went quick and simple.  Friday we are going out of town for Spring Break to visit family, so all lunches will be focused on using up the goodies in the fridge to reduce waste.

Monday:  spaghetti and meat sauce

Tuesday:  macaroni and cheese and sloppy joes (using up meat sauce)

Wednesday:  Potluck at church, taking potato soup (freeze a batch for later)

Thursday:  leftover clean sweep of fridgerator

Friday:  off we go!!!

For more menu plans and great recipes, head over to orgjunkie.com.

mpm121

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

welcome to menu planning! looks like a good menu.

Comment by cookingupafamily

Thank you for the welcome!

Comment by mindingmomma

Thanks so much for joining us! And welcome to blogland too 🙂

Comment by Org Junkie

Thanks for your question on my blog (http://30dollarweeklygrocerychallenge.blogspot.com/) I updated the comment section answered your question.Hope it helps.

I noticed you had potato soup on your menu plan. I do too! How do you make yours? I always think it is neat to hear the different variations.

Comment by 30dollarweeklygrocerychallenge

Thanks for stopping by my blog. Your menu looks great. I’ve posted the mocha bagel recipe.
http://lindsaycramp.blogspot.com/2009/03/mocha-bagels.html

Comment by Lucy

Thanks for your comment on my blog. Flexibility is key to menu planning. When I’m preparing a week in advance, I just don’t know what I’m going to be hungry for, who’s going to be sick, etc. I use my menu as a guide, not a rule. Welcome to blogging and come visit me again!

Comment by Lindsay @ newmerciesfortoday.blogspot.com




Leave a Reply

