Minding momma


Thursday of Tradition
April 2, 2009, 6:16 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Yesterday was April 1st, of course, the anniversary of my mom’s passing…
It was a cold and rainy day, no beach walk, no fresh air, no nuttin’!
And it was the monthly church potluck. I had planned to make potato soup. It was the perfect day for soup. I pulled out my momma’s crock pot, and I peeled potatoes by hand with a paring knife held up to the hilt with my index finger and when I was done, I had that little red bump. A tradition. My mom used a knife, we had peelers, and I have two in my drawer now, but what did she use them for??? Carrots maybe? Oh yes, I remember, cucumbers. Nobody liked the waxy skin of cucumbers…that’s what we peeled. Sometimes, mmostly she used a paring knife, held to the hilt with her index finger, until she finished and had that little red bump…

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

