Minding momma


Summer Planning
May 27, 2009, 11:24 am
Filed under: Parenting - pre-tween, Parenting - toddler

I have been volunteering at the school in the afternoons, and had a chance to spend a little time with the librarian and tech center teacher.  I asked some questions about summer learning, and got some really good answers.  I went to the county library and checked out some activity and game books, and I talked to my girlfriend whose oldest and youngest match ours in age, and she is getting an education degree…

Some things I have decided are:  We will start “SUMMER” the Monday after VBS.  So that gives us 2 free weeks to settle into a routine without the morning rush, and the nightly bath/backpack/permission slip race.  And it gives everyone time to get used to being together all the time, and find their special “quiet” place.

We will use worksheets once a week to stay on track with our letters and math skills, increasing in August to 2-3 times a week.  Each night hubby or I will read a chapter out of a book that is in our oldest child’s reading range, but will be a good story for all, the first being the Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, then we will read House in the Big Woods.  We will still do all the regular things we do now, art projects, hand-crafts, cooking, outside play, dress-up, etc. 

Did I really answer my earlier question:   What are my daily goals and tasks…what will I assign or expect of each child?  I think I answered what I expect of myself.

I also found this very fun sounding plan for Camp Wanna-Laffa-Lotta.  I will be anxiously awaiting the posts!  http://www.lifeasmom.com/2009/05/camp-wannalaffalotta-stay-tuned-for.html

Our devotions will be based on the VBS theme (more about this later).

Do you have a summer routine you follow?  Or have you “planned” your summer?   Care to share????  I’d love thoughts and directions!!!!

 

Edited May 29th, adding sites as I find them…

http://www.momsbyheart.net/2009/04/plan-now-for-great-summer-vacation.html

http://www.kidsturncentral.com/summer/summer.htm

http://familyfun.go.com/games/indoor-outdoor-games/specialfeature/summer-games-june/

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

