Minding momma


Happy Homemaker monday
August 3, 2009, 7:26 am
Filed under: Uncategorized
hhm
Stop by Diary of a SAHM for more blogs, and great reading

The weather in my neck of the woods:
We are humid and hot.  Typical Southern summer.

One of my simple pleasures:
Talking to my husband on the phone and hearing his voice as we say good night prayers as a family.  Technology is not simple, but the results are magical.

On my bedside table:
Checklist for packing, so I don’t forget anything.  Overdue (eeeps) library books.  Beth Moore devotional.

On my TV:
Little House on the Prairie.  Paula Deen.  Wa$ted.  Clean Sweep.

On the menu for tonight:
Simple plans all this week.  No fuss or leftovers, salad and tacos tonight.

On my To Do List:
Laundry.  Gather items for the trip to Texas.  Get new paint color for bathroom, cannot stand the brown.

New Recipe I tried last week:
Nothing, stayed within my comfort zone.  

In the craft basket:
Same old, same old…More things I want to get to soon.  Still some quilt squares cut for my sons blanket.   Cutting some of my daughters’ old jeans down to capris and adding ribbons.
Looking forward to:
Having a sparkling clean house.  (leaving up this daydream)  Eating at Alamo Cafe, walking along the Riverwalk, visiting the Alamo with my children, spending time with hubby and our family together.

Homemaking Tip for this week:
Pack your childrens outfits in baggies (reuse them).  Ease of choosing something that matches, all parts are together, and flying is easy to get through security.  *left up to remind myself as I pack this week

 Favorite Blog Post of the week (mine or other):http://confessions-of-a-psychotic-housewife.blogspot.com/2009/07/thrifty-thursday-planning-ahead-to-save.html

Favorite photo from last week:IMG_0447
 .  

Lesson learned the past few days:
I know that it is a cold coming when the eyes are watering and the throat is sore, so why don’t I slow down and take more care of myself before I get a full blown case of the ickyies? .

On my Prayer List:
Family – my husband and our marriage.  Safe travel.  Fair weather and blue skies.

Devotionals, Scripture Reading, Key Verses:
We have kept up with nightly family prayers through the computer and cell phones.  I have woken the children up if they have fallen asleep early so they do not miss this time.  My girlfriend asked me why I would after all these years of learning to let a sleeping child lie.  And I had to examine myself for an answer.  “Because it’s what we do”, but I want it to be more than habit.  “Because I don’t want them to go to sleep without it”, is that selfish?  “Because you are supposed to”, that southern upbringing.  Where did my answer come from?  My husband and I had decided before our child was born that we weould pray together nightly, and then we prayed over our children, until they grew to say prayers with us, and it is that important to us to make time for it, even if I have to re-rock someone to sleep.


 PS – other Happy Homemaker bloggers, if you have only google commenting, I cannot leave a comment on your post, but I do read everyone’s!  Even if it takes me all week!
2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love that Picture Beautiful!!1

Comment by Michele

Beautiful picture!

Comment by Sandra




Leave a Reply

