Minding momma


Happy Homemaker Monday
August 31, 2009, 8:26 am
Filed under: Devotion
hhm
Stop by Diary of a SAHM for more blogs, and great reading

The weather in my neck of the woods:
In the upper 80s with daily chance of thunderstorms.

One of my simple pleasures:
Laying in my own bed.

On my bedside table:
Piles and piles of books, school notes, alarm clock, cell phone and a bottle of water.

On my TV:
Littles are watching PBS Sprout.  I have taped several episodes of Clean Sweep, 30 minute Meals, and The Secret Life of the American Teenager.

On the menu for tonight:
Beef noodle soup.

On my To Do List:
Laundry.  Declutter my dresser and closet.

New Recipe I tried last week:
Ate a lime chicken and rice meal in Texas, wonderfully tangy.  

HELP ME FIND A DELICIOUS BREAKFAST COOKIE RECIPE THAT DOES NOT INCLUDE PEANUT BUTTER OR RAISINS! 

In the craft basket:
I only bought a little fabric, but several patterns while i was gone.  I want to do a fall bear paw for my bed, maybe this year will be the year.  
Looking forward to:
Parent-teacher conference and getting to sit down for a few minutes with them.  Settling into fall schedule and routines again.  Hubby coming home in one month!!!!!!

Homemaking Tip for this week:
Do not leave bread by the stove, it gets hard quick!

 Favorite Blog Post of the week (mine or other):

 

eeeps, need to catch up, sorry

Favorite photo from last week:
IMG_0150I adore pink flamingos   For more of our Texas trip, check back in this week for the photos of the whole trip.  

Lesson learned the past few days:
I can get very swept up in school supplies.  I love the back to school aisles!

On my Prayer List:
Family – my husband and our marriage.  His employment.  My fathers health.  The children and their teachers.   My health and fears.  Fair weather and no hurricanes.

Devotionals, Scripture Reading, Key Verses :
 “And my God will meet all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus” (Philippians 4:19).

I need this promise right now.  Financial strain has hit many close family members and our church family as well.  There are a few who have made their needs public, I can imagine the number who are still not ready to face that door.  I am struggling through my days without my husband here physically, but in spirit and love I am surrounded by him and by our Father.   And each visit to the cemetary brings a new layer of loss and pain I must face.

 

 

 PS – other Happy Homemaker bloggers, if you have only google commenting, I cannot leave a comment on your post, but I do read everyone’s!  Even if it takes me all week!
7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I can get swept up in the school sales too! Happy Monday!

Comment by Jodi

sorry i have no good potty training advice but if someone sends you some forward it to me.. ive only partically trained my daugter ..my mother in law did most of it..and im just starting with my boy.. so GOOD LUCK we are both goin to need it..

Comment by mistie

I love school supplies, too! It’s hard to restrain myself – am I buying the stuff for my daughter or me?? Have a good day.

Comment by Debra

Hi! I hear what you are saying about the school supplies – it always makes me giddy and I end up with more than we need! Do you have a suggestion for a reputable place for a bamboo mat? I’d love a reference…

Now, here’s a recipe for breakfast bars that I have made – and, of course, it contains both of the things you don’t want. But, I would think you could easily leave out the raisins, and wonder if you could use molasses instead of the peanut butter – would that make it sticky enough to adhere? How about cashew/almond butter or is that a no no as well? Just a thought…

Thanks for stopping by!
Apple Breakfast Bars

½ cup dried apples, snipped
1/3 cup honey
¼ cup raisins
1 Tbsp. packed brown sugar
1/3 cup peanut butter
¼ cup apple butter
½ tsp. ground cinnamon
½ cup rolled oats
½ cup chopped walnuts or pecans
1/3 cup toasted wheat germ
¼ cup roasted sunflower seeds
2 cups cornflakes and/or wheat flakes

In a Dutch oven combine apples, honey, raisins, and brown sugar. Heat and stir until mixture boils. Reduce heat slightly. Cook, uncovered, for one minute, stirring constantly. Remove from heat. Stir in peanut butter until melted. Blend in apple butter and cinnamon. Stir in rolled oats, walnuts or pecans, wheat germ, and sunflower seeds until well combined. Add cereal, stirring to coat.

Press mixture very firmly (or bars will crumble) and evenly into an 8x8x2 pan. Chill to set. Cut into 8 bars. Store up to 2 days in an airtight container in the refrigerator. Makes 8 bars.

Nutrition facts per serving: 327 cal., 14 g total fat (2 g sat. fat), 0 mg chol., 118 mg sodium, 48 g carbo., 4 g fiber, and 8 g protein. Daily Values: 1% vit. A, 2% vit. C, 3% calcium, and 11% iron.

Comment by Sarah

I love the back to school aisles and don’t worry if yours are like mine they will all be used

Comment by angie

Hi and thanks for coming by my blog today! It’s always nice to have a new face pop in! 🙂

Ditto on school supplies. This is why I have too many at this point. Probably take me 4 years to use up all the lined paper I buy!

Comment by Green Thumb Mama

Beef noodle sounds yummy!!
I love stationary too – I get carried away whenever I go to get school supplies too.
And I agree with you – there is nothing like sleeping in your own bed.

Comment by Kari




Leave a Reply

