Minding momma


Happy Homemaker Monday & More
September 7, 2009, 2:10 am
Filed under: Menu Planning, misc., Wifedom
hhm
Stop by Diary of a SAHM for more blogs, and great reading

The weather in my neck of the woods:
In the upper 80s, with some cooler mornings, but very humid.

One of my simple pleasures:
Listening to the radio in the car instead of a childrens video.

On my bedside table:
Piles and piles of books, school notes, alarm clock, cell phone and a bottle of water.

On my TV:
I have taped:  Barefoot Contessa, NCIS, How Clean is Your House and Neat.

On the menu for tonight:
***see below in the grocery challenge info about my menu for the week..

On my To Do List:
Laundry.  Declutter.  Set my dining room for fall with new table cloth and wreath.

New Recipe I tried last week:
Chicken tortilla soup with just chicken, adobo sauce, and pico.  

In the craft basket:
I want to do a fall bear paw for my bed.  Some old (new to me) quilt magazines.  

Looking forward to:
Parent-teacher conference and getting to sit down for a few minutes with them.  Settling into fall schedule and routines again.  Hubby coming home in three weeks!!!!!!

Homemaking Tip for this week:
Hang a pen on the calendar for quick jot downs while on the phone instead of on a scrap of paper you forget about later!

 Favorite Blog Post of the week (mine or other):

 http://shabbynest.blogspot.com/2009/09/reading-and-writing-and-arithmetic.html

 Favorite photo from last week:
Quick little quilt I put together in Texas for one of my husbands’ classmates who is expecting.

  5934_1184991915136_1538415969_2339784_4536220_n

Lesson learned the past few days:
I am not the only person in the world who gets overwhelmed and beats up on themself!

On my Prayer List:
Family – my husband and our marriage.  His employment.  My fathers health.  The children and their teachers.   My health and fears.  Fair weather and no hurricanes.

Devotionals, Scripture Reading, Key Verses :
 For I am about to fall, and my pain is ever with me. Psalm 38:17

 
PS – other Happy Homemaker bloggers, if you have only google commenting, I cannot leave a comment on your post, but I do read everyone’s!  Even if it takes me all week!

 

SpendChallenge

I found this challenge this weekend while blog surfing, it is right up my alley especially headed into the holidays.

Here’s my most recent tally.  38.81, here’s what I got:

hamburger buns, 2 center cut bone in ham slices, 2 pkg boneless chicken on sale for 1.80/lb, boneless spare ribs on sale for .99c lb, alphabet pasta, fresh peaches, watermelon, cucumbers, suave shampoo for kids, bag of chips, 2 candy bars, nerf football and bubbles at 75% off, 3 yogurts, chip dip, toaster strudel, tv dinner, and a lunchable.

Not the best, most rounded meal planning, but with some frozen vegetables I already have, this should get us through until Saturday.  If I plan correctly!

So my meal plan is

Monday:  BBQ ribs, peas, and instant mashed potatoes.

Tuesday:  Chicken and rice a roni.

Wednesday:  BBQ sandwiches (leftovers) and fries.

Thursday:  Ham slices and frozen mixed vegs.

  Friday:  Chicken nuggets (from leftovers) and green beans.

http://www.owlhaven.net/2009/09/01/join-the-september-75-grocery-challenge/

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Cute quilt!

Comment by Jodi




Leave a Reply

