Minding momma


Schools In
September 9, 2009, 8:34 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

We spent last evening at school.  I am overjoyed at my childs’ assigned teachers.  But I wonder why so many of her classmates from last year are in a different class from her.  I would have thought if they were mixing the grades up for better social growth, etc. there would not be a 74% carryover from one teacher to another.  And why was my child culled out? 

I find it amusing that for whatever reason the school can call a meeting, they do, and they have you sign in.  Because parental involvement = higher scores.  Higher scores = more funding.  Funding = job security.  So boy, oh boy, do we have meeting after meeting after event, the plate is full to entice you to attend more.

I do not profess to understand all the tenantsof “no child left behind”.  But what I do know, I don’t like.  I am in favor of public education, homeschooling, and unschooling equally.  I am glad that there are private academies, Christian schools, and other religion based facilities.  I am not in favor of guidelines determining how my child will be classified.  I am not happy that there are still divided reading groups after all these decades of reform.  I am confused as to why we are still, as a country, so far behind others in academics.

Now I am off my soapbox.  Agree, agree to disagree, have no opinion.  Its all okay.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

