Minding momma


Happy Homemaker Monday
October 12, 2009, 8:38 am
Filed under: misc.
hhm
Stop by Diary of a SAHM for more blogs, and great reading

The weather in my neck of the woods:
We are in the mid 80s most days, and upper 60s at night.  We have had a lot of rainy days. 

One of my simple pleasures:
Pumpkin Pie scent in every store.  

On my bedside table:
Stack of books, water, Cell phone, permission slip for school trip.

On my TV:
Hubby has remote control.  NCIS, Deadliest Catch, Unwrapped, Mythbusters, etc.  Kids tv is mostly PBS sprout.  

On the menu for tonight:
Going out for burgers and onion rings, yummy.

On my To Do List:
Ooops, still need to repaint kids bathroom.  More laundry. Get hubby ready to leave this weekend, boo. 

New Recipe I tried last week:
Nothing, sorry. 

In the craft basket:
Haven’t touched it with hubs home, so  fall quilt top still waiting for a border and backing.  Still haven’t started littlest ones’ dino quilt.      

Looking forward to:
Spending one more last week with hubby at home!!!!!!  Going to visit our cousins’ family over the weekend.

Homemaking Tip for this week:
Do not get out of daily routine when hubs comes home, it takes forever to get caught up and that’s just lost time we could have been doing something fun.   

 Favorite Blog Post of the week (mine or other):

http://sewmamasew.com/blog2/?p=1302

  Favorite photo from last week:

 

 Lesson learned the past few days:
Growing up is hard to do.  Our oldest is stretching her boundaries and its making me pull my hair out.  She is by stages trying to be more independent and make her own decisions, and wanting to please her parents and get lots of hugs and praise.  We are entering a new season with her in this pre-teen arena and it scares me!

On my Prayer List:
We are almost all over this cough and illness bug, hooray.  Direction in finding a new church home.   Lots of praying for the children and their teachers.   Waiting for a final answer on hubs next job so we can figure our budget for the holidays and beyond. 

 

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I was readding your lessons learned….I have 6 kiddos ranging in age from 2yr-15yrs! I had 4 boys before having 2 girls!
I can so relate…..to the teen thing! Its so hard to let them go a bit…deciding when to let them do what. Whats really challenging is when the parents of the kiddos my son is friends with have values. Not in line with our family with our family!
It gets complicated…
is a older driving teen(sibling of his friend) going to be picking you up from the movies?
Many of his friends parents(divorced) have boyfriends that stay over! My 15yr old is a good kid…..but other parents have showed lack of judgement in their lives and it makes me wonder when my child is over there! So some would say don’t let him go over there….life is not always that easy! Parenting is hard!
When I was due with baby #6, I was upstairs in my bathroom(it over looks the driveway) only to hear my 17yr old babysitter (and neighbor) offer my then 13yr old drugs! I was parilized with fear….why would she offer? Did he already do drugs? My son was friend with the 13yr old that lived with our sitter!

Sorry to ramble….

Blessings,
Georgiann from The Garden Gate

I did Happy Homemaker Monday too

Comment by Fruitful Harvest




Leave a Reply

