Minding momma


Happy Homemaker Monday – 2014 .1
January 6, 2014, 1:38 am
Filed under: Devotion, Menu Planning, misc.

HHMWINTER
be sure to check out the others at http://familycorner.blogspot.com/

As I look outside my window:
It looks really cold from where I sit. I dread having to go out for two errands that must be completed today. I haven’t seen the deer in my yard recently, though there are tracks in the front yard snow.

Right now I am:
Coughing my head off. The infection and fever are gone, but this crud lingers and is making me hoarse. On week of sucking on cough drops and Robitussin. I am also trying to be quiet as my husband is sleeping, since he is working the overnight shift this week.

Thinking and pondering:
About the church service yesterday and where the Pastor is leading us. See yesterday’s post for the message notes if interested.

On my bedside table:
My Bible. No less than 8 library books. Finance, quilting, cooking, and a political thriller. I also picked up a copy of Rick Warren’s 40 Days of Purpose for a buck at the library’s used book sale!

On my tv:
I keep it off during the day, I relish the quiet. My husband turned on some old movie to fall asleep to, and that tv is still playing in the back room. There are taped episodes of The Big Bang Theory, How Its Made, and The Pioneer Woman to be watched.

Playing on the radio:
No music playing either, enjoying the quiet.

On the menu for this week:
Monday –Pasta night (I keep this night constant weekly so I have little stress at the start of the week)
Tuesday – Hamburger steaks and french fries.
Wednesday – Soup and Sandwiches.
Thursday –Chicken and roasted potatoes.
Friday – Pizza at Pastors.
Saturday – Something in the crock pot…maybe a roast
Sunday – ??? I just can’t think that far ahead right now.

On my to do list:
Laundry as always – Ironing (yuck)
Putting the manger scene in the basement. Got the figures packed away but left the wooden stable sitting on the table all week.
Declutter my sons’ t-shirt drawer. It is so full, he has trouble getting it all the way closed.

What I am creating:
A winter snowy-themed table runner. All silver, ice blue, and swirls.

My simple pleasure:
Eating away at my Toblerone bar I got in my stocking, one peak a day only.

Lesson learned the past week:
There are worse things in life than what I face. There are families in worse places than I am. I am blessed!

Looking around the house:
There are still Christmas boxes and toys scattered in the living room, I haven’t made the kids take them to their rooms yet. Our family desk is a total mess. I need some kind of organization system for all these papers and disks laying on top. I can see that my daughter did not vacuum yesterday.

From the camera “nothing new loaded this week”

Prayer List:
MY CAR! LORD, please, touch my little van and let it keep running on this battery and tires. We just can’t afford to replace either this month.
Special request for another mom-of-a-rebelling-teen. Keep asking God to intercede with my dear friend who is struggling to find peace in her home. Very concerned about my father’s wife, she has a chronic condition that is worsening, and he is watching another wife slowly decline in front of his eyes. Our Pastor and our church family, to just explode in the community and service.

Favorite Verse this month: John 14:2 & 3 KJV “In my Fathers house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and recieve you unto myself: that where I am, there ye may be also.”

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love the Big Bang Theory. My husband and I laugh and laugh when we watch that show!
I too have a paperwork/organization system failure – but I don’t have a desk to collect it all. It accumulates on the kitchen counter! yuck!
I hope you feel better! Enjoy your week!

Comment by Ruth A. Stiles

My husband and daughter watch it together.
I hope I feel better soon too.
Thanks for stopping by!

Comment by mindingmomma

Really hope you start feeling better. I had a cold and now all that is lingering is the chest itching and the coughing, it’s driving me crazy.

Hope you have a great week 🙂

Comment by Sandra

You sound like me: I don’t mind the QUIET at all – no tv, no music. Just me, God, and my thoughts. 🙂
Hope you feel better soon. Thanks for stopping by my blog too!! 🙂

Comment by Conny

PS I love Toblerone bars too!!!!! 🙂

Comment by Conny

I hope you feel better soon! Enjoy your Toblerone:)

Comment by Kat

I love your blog and am now a subscriber. Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving a nice comment. Hope you are feeling better soon. I love your scripture for the week. Will pray for your friend with the rebellious teen. I have totally been there with my oldest son – now 23 and still rebellious. I pray someday that he will mature and just be nice! I am looking forward to visiting often and reading more of your posts!

Comment by Deb




Leave a Reply

