Minding momma


Looking at the next part of Prepare.
January 10, 2014, 12:12 am
Filed under: Devotion, Fashion Minded, Health, One Word, PREPARE

If you have been reading me this year, you know about this. If you need to catch up, here are the other posts so far…

Part One: https://mindingmomma.wordpress.com/2014/01/03/more-about-my-word/

Part Two: https://mindingmomma.wordpress.com/2014/01/03/more-about-my-word/

Part Three: https://mindingmomma.wordpress.com/2014/01/07/what-does-prepare-also-mean/

PREPARE.
The second part of the definition from mirriam-webster.com is: to make yourself ready for something that you will be doing, something that you expect to happen, etc.

I think that this applies to my three areas like this…
Spiritually, to make yourself ready…. I have been checking out devotional books from the library haphazardly as I see a title that catches my eye! As a family, we have committed to going to at least one of the two church dinner and Bible Study nights per month. And I asked my father, a pastor, for 12 verses that my family could memorize this year, one a month. I want to build up my knowledge and prepare my heart, mind, and soul to be a witness this year.

Externally, to make yourself ready for something that you will be doing. I have found an online consignment shop that I am using to list some of my lesser worn items on, and then turning around those points and buying things for my daughter and I that are more feminine, and by default more modest. I am going to prepare my wardrobe without hurting our finances in this way. So that as others see me, they may see Jesus in me. I also want to be prepared to go into the workforce should a part-time position arise that I can fill. God knows our needs at this point, and I am waiting for Him to meet them in this way. My slouchy, at home, comfortable clothes aren’t ready for the workplace.

Internally, to make yourself ready for something that you expect to happen. Whew. This big cold snap came before I had a chance to prepare our emergency kits. Thankfully, we didn’t lose power or water. But I have got to make this a priority. I am not prepared for my upcoming dr. visit. I know that my blood work is in the “concern” category, and I haven’t made a change in diet and exercise. This is not ignorance, I am well aware of the issue, it is stupidity. And I am praying for the power to overcome my doubts and fears, and get myself in better shape.

Okay. That’s the second look at the definition. I think there are two more to address. I appreciate your comments of support and encouragement. And suggestions for implementing these things into my daily life. I know it is a process, and I have twelve months to make mistakes, learn from them, and grow. I hope you will keep me accountable and pray with me as I prepare for 2014.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

“Make yourself ready” is a word the Lord gave me in a song years ago — http://hisfirefly.blogspot.ca/2009/02/in-garden.html

Comment by hisfirefly

That’s a beautiful theme. thank you for linking that here.

Comment by mindingmomma




Leave a Reply

