Minding momma


Happy Homemaker Monday – 2014.2
January 13, 2014, 9:36 am
Filed under: Devotion, Menu Planning, misc., Wifedom

HHMWINTER
be sure to check out the others at http://familycorner.blogspot.com/

As I look outside my window:
It is nice to see green. All the snow and ice from last week melted over the weekend. I know there is more to come later this week, but for now, I see green.

Right now I am:
Worried about my little boy, he is now coughing his head off like I was last week. But no fever, so off to school for him. I am also trying to be quiet as my husband is sleeping, since he is working the overnight shift again this week. Ugh.

Thinking and pondering:
About lots of things this morning. It’s a busy week here, I don’t think there is one blank day on my calendar until next wednesday or thursday! I am pre-planning my day in my head, and I haven’t a clue what to do for dinner.

On my bedside table:
My Bible. No less than 8 library books. Finance, quilting, cooking, and a political thriller. I also was able to download those free Beth Moore books last week on the kindle!

On my tv:
I keep it off during the day, I relish the quiet. We are turning the cable off Friday, so there are 50 or so taped shows to watch which probably won’t happen.

Playing on the radio:
No music playing either, enjoying the quiet.

On the menu for this week:
Monday –Pasta night (I keep this night constant weekly so I have little stress at the start of the week)
Tuesday – Hamburger steaks and french fries.
Wednesday – Soup and Sandwiches.
Thursday –Chicken and roasted potatoes.
Friday – Pizza.
Saturday – Something in the crock pot…maybe a roast
Sunday – ??? I just can’t think that far ahead right now.

On my to do list:
Laundry as always – Ironing (yuck)
Declutter job this week is my half of the closet. Lots of skirts that don’t fit I’ve been holding onto just because, and some shirts I don’t like the fit of, going to put them all on Listia.

What I am creating:
A winter snowy-themed table runner. All silver, ice blue, and swirls.

My simple pleasure:
Eating away at my Toblerone bar I got in my stocking, one peak a day only.

Lesson learned the past week:
Not leaned, but reminded, to praise Him in the storm!

Looking around the house:
I am wishing we had things on the walls. But it is a rental. So I just keep wishing.

From the camera “nothing new loaded this week”

Prayer List:
MY CAR! LORD, please, touch my little van and let it keep running on this battery and tires. We just can’t afford to replace either this month.
Special request for another mom-of-a-rebelling-teen. We need a church building, we or a local school, to open its doors to us, we are slowly outgrowing our current meeting location. Our Pastor and our church family, to just explode in the community and service.

Favorite Verse this month: John 14:2 & 3 KJV “In my Fathers house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and recieve you unto myself: that where I am, there ye may be also.”

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I hope your son feels much better soon and that the van keeps on going for you! Cutting cable is a great way to attack expenses – we haven’t had it for some time and I, for one, don’t miss it (or the bill for it LOL) one bit.
Hope you can stay sane during your busy week ahead! 🙂

Comment by Melonie K.

I hope he feels better too. He told me on the way to the school bus stop that he had a tummy ache, but the nurse didn’t call me, so he must of made it through the day. thanks for stopping by!

Comment by mindingmomma

Hope your son gets well soon! Those winter coughs seem to go on forever sometimes.

I downloaded a whole bunch of Beth Moore books for free too. I’ve just started reading one today. 🙂

Comment by Sarah

oh which one, a couple of us ladies at church decided to read the one about David together and try to discuss it once a week.

Comment by mindingmomma

I hope your son feels better soon. My kids were sick, then my hubby, and now that they are better wouldn’t you know I’m sick. Such is the luck. haha
I admire you for cutting out cable. I honestly don’t watch much TV at all but I do have certain favorite shows I couldn’t watch without cable. At least not until they come out on DVD. haha
Hope you have a good week! 🙂

Comment by Tori

admire schmire – it was that or not eat.
It will be a battle, but books are good, games are fun, and a little decluttering will be good for us all.
thanks for the well wishes for my little one

Comment by mindingmomma

hope that your son is spared the fever … have a good – but busy – week.
I’ll pray for your vehicle situation if you’ll pray for mine!! 🙂

Comment by OrdinaryHausfrau

You got it!

Comment by mindingmomma




Leave a Reply

