Minding momma


More about PREPARE
January 17, 2014, 1:35 am
Filed under: Devotion, One Word, PREPARE

In previous days this month I have written about the first two definitions of the word and a list of synonyms. Here is the third part of the definition from merriam-webster.com:
to make or create (something) so that it is ready for use
Let’s look quickly at what I have outlined for my three areas:
spiritually; membership class and consider joining church, focused devotion, witness, memorizing a verse a month
external; get out more, dress better, maybe find a part-time job
and internal; diet & exercise to lower cholesterol, prepare emergency kit

Taking today’s definition, I think I can say that spiritually, to…create (something) so this it is ready for use is happening. We started the family Bible Study on Friday night, and I was challenged to know what I believe, why I believe, and to be able to defend it Biblically. So I am digging deep to remind myself of my foundation. A few ladies are also reading a book together about David and will be meeting for tea/coffee to talk about it together. And we still plan on attending the membership class. I haven’t really pushed my kids to learn the verse of the month, and I am disappointed in myself for that. I really need to make it a priority!

externally, to make (something) so that it is ready for use is a little harder to apply. I have been doing some of the online consignment, but I haven’t really cleaned out my closet and gotten serious about it. I have been sending out resumes and applications to many area businesses, without responses. I’m not sure what I am supposed to do.

internally, to make or create (something) so that it is ready for use is in between the other two. I had to buy water last week when pipes were freezing and bursting all over town. That is my first real purchase for an emergency kit. I am reading two books from the library about what to put in a kit and why to do it. I don’t look at the end of the world scenarios, because I expect to be whooshed up in the sky when Jesus returns, but I do think that it is prudent to have some food, water, and warm clothes on hand in case of a car sliding off the road in the snow, or a power outtage due to ice on the lines.
And, I have found an accountability partner for my health-style change. She is on me about my eating schedule right now. And I need that.

This week has been hard for me to get into the One Word. I’m not sure if the winter blues are setting in, the New Year’s rush is wearing off, we are just too busy as a family with activities outside the home, or a combination of all the above are distracting me. I have one more day of defining posts, then the real meat of it will come. Actual steps towards each goal. Thanks for following along with me on this discovery in 2014.

And on a side note, I was in the High School last night, and the announcements were all about the halfway point. The kids are on the downside of the school year now. Hard to believe. I found it fascinating that it coincides with the halfway point of the month. “Small things amuse small minds.” – unknown

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

