Minding momma


Easter Wall Hanging w/how-to
March 30, 2014, 5:45 am
Filed under: crafted, misc.

I finally got some fabric out and played around a little for Spring.  I made two wall hangings similar to each other.

This is the one I gave my father and his wife.  It was my first time with prairie points, I am quite pleased with them.

Easter 14

How-to:

I had my daughter draw an egg on cardstock, I traced it onto tissue paper, then sewed row by row from the bottom up.  I basted the edge and then trimmed the strips down to the egg shape.  It was super easy to tear away the tissue paper.  Next, I put a layer of cotton batting behind the egg and a piece of muslin and stitched in the ditch for some “poofiness”.  I attached it to the white rectangle and did needle-turn applique.  Which was a waste of time because I then decided to cover the edge with the ric-rac, live and learn.  I added some stitching to the non-polka dot strips like an Easter egg would have.  A large zig-zag, a wave, circles, etc.  I just freehanded these.  I added my prairie points around the edge, I you-tubed how to make them.  Added the green border strip.  Then I sandwiched and pin-basted.  I sewed around the egg, twice, a quarter of an inch apart.  I printed coloring pages from my computer, cut out an egg pattern and a bunny shape, which I stitched around in each corner.  I added my binding, sewed it on, turned it over, and sewed it down.  Added a hanging sleeve by you-tubing the directions.  And there you go.  I did all this by hand.  I thought they turned out quite cute.

If I get a chance to take a photo of the other one I made  for my Pastor and his wife, I’ll add it in.

thanks for stopping by, i love comments and visiting new blogs, be sure to say HI.

 

linking to:

Confessions of a Fabric Addict, Show and Tell Tuesday, A Bright and Beautiful Life, That’s What Che Said, Quilt Story

Beth

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

That is a beautiful job11-Prairie points are not at all easy!!

Comment by Anonymous




Leave a Reply

