Minding momma


Scrappy Goodness
July 9, 2015, 4:39 am
Filed under: crafted, Life, Parenting - child

100_4658

These are the scraps my bloggy friend Amy so generously gifted me with.  She has such a lovely heart, and a wonderful quilting talent.  Click on her name to visit her blog.

100_4659

And sorry for the glare, but this little plastic box of scraps came from one of our local quilt shops that has a bag grab one day a year.  My son went with me and helped me fill our bag to the brim last year.  Luckily this quilt must have been on my mind, as I had a good stack of the red, black, and white in it.

Funny story, I went to the sewing bee last Friday at Quilter’s Depot, a little local quilt shop I find so dear, and took my son with me.  He watched and played on his game tablet as I cut the stacks of fabric into squares.  He helped count them so I knew how many blocks I could make.  And he puttered around with the shop ladies stuffing bags and dusting while I hand stitched the first block together to get a feel for my design.  He sat down beside me and said, “mom, I think you need to make two of these.”  I asked why would that be?  And he gave me the puppy dog look, hugged my arm, and said, “cause I really like that and think I need this quilt to use when we go to the games to see my sister cheer!”

Augh! How could I say no to that?  Wheels are turning on another design, so we will have similar stadium blankets to use this fall.  Got a favorite simple four or nine patch scrappy design to share?  ***I think I might need more scraps!

Linking up to Confessions of a Fabric Addict and Crazy Mom Quilts and Kathy’s Quilts

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

They kids are sneaky that way. But it’s always nice when they want one of your quilts.

Comment by Life in Pieces

He asks for so little too. I couldn’t say yes fast enough!

Comment by mindingmomma




Leave a Reply

