Minding momma


Did she just sew?
July 12, 2015, 5:30 am
Filed under: crafted

Oh my goodness.  I just took a class this weekend at my local quilt shop, Quilter’s Depot, and used a machine!

Make & Take  – Disappearing 4
Patch:  Her e’s your chance, if you missed it before, to take this very popular, fun and easy class! You start with
4 squares (2 light and 2 dark), a couple  slices with a rotary cutter and you get an interesting and intricate block!
The contrast between the light and the dark fabrics is what makes this block striking. This is a “How-To” class
which means you will go home with at least one completed block so you have a sample to use when creating your future quilts.
Teacher: Peggy Gibson.

20150710_14171420150711_094656  my blocks ready to put together

sampleQD 4 patch

I don’t usually sew this way.  I am a hand stitcher through and through.  But I fell in love with their disappearing 4-patch quilt and that would not work with hand sewing. So I mustered up the gumption to ask for a lesson on one of the shops’ machines, and signed up for the class.  My first real sit-in-a-quilt-shop class.  Boy am I out of my comfort zone!

Shots from the shop:

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I enjoy making that pattern…super easy and fun design

Comment by Deb@farmhousequilter

It was great. i may do it again if i ever touch a machine again.

Comment by mindingmomma




Leave a Reply

