Minding momma


Happy Homemaker Monday
August 3, 2015, 1:34 am
Filed under: Devotion, Life, Wifedom

Happy homemaker Monday To read more wonderful ladies, visit Diary of A Stay at Home Mom.

The weather in my neck of the woods:
Mostly cloudy with afternoon showers for the first part of the week, mid to upper 80s plus humidity. Hot and sticky.  Just about right for the start of August.

Things that make me happy:
Hearing my children laugh!
Menu for this week:  Still enjoying summertime, so not set in stone
Monday – Usually our pasta night.  Bread crumb pasta for hubs and daughter, buttered noodles for son, and a chicken salad for mom (I don’t eat pasta).
Tuesday – Try to have chicken on this night.  Thinking repeat the grilled sweet & sour chicken, it was so good.  Rice for the side.
Wednesday – Daughter has either practice or youth group this night.  Turning into our regular pizza night.  Love that our local deal is an x-large cheese for $10 bucks. Always leftovers for hubby to take to work. Two meals for that price.
Thursday – Tacos sound good right now, so I’m throwing them in here.
Friday – Probably our first night home all week as a family.  Crock pot beef roast over egg noodles. May even break down and make crescent rolls.
Saturday – Errands today.  Grocery store, gathering school supplies, may even hit the local outlet mall for some back-to-school clothing deals.  Definitely eating out.
Sunday –  Hoping mom gets off easy with hubby grilling out hamburgers and corn on cob.
What’s on my TV today:
Gotten my daughter hooked on watching Dallas Cowboy Cheerleaders: Making the Team, dozens of NCIS for her and her dad to watch, Battlebots for my son, and some rerun Pioneer Woman for me.
Looking around the house:
I wish I could paint!  Rentals are so tough to make feel fresh when I am in the homemaking mood.  May get hubby to move couch and bookshelves around for a new look.  Bought a $4 dollar lime green front door mat that everyone but me hates. It makes me smile.
On my To Do List:
Laundry – as if this would be taken off my plate somehow
Grocery Shopping List to make and coupons to organize
Work on quilts
Read for pleasure.  Finally got around to taking son to library last week.  Must keep this up.
New Recipe I tried or want to try soon:
I want to try coconut bars.  Any link to some good ones that aren’t lemon also, not a fan.
In the craft basket:
Still plugging away on the stadium blankets for us.  Must be diligent in getting them ready for September.
Looking forward to this week:
A week of doctors appointments and dentist trips.  Only looking forward to it in terms of getting those things off my calendar.

Tips and Tricks:
Put a small garbage can in between your backs seats with extra liner. Empty often.

My favorite blog post this week:
Just might be my own record of our family trip last month.

Blog Hopping (a new discovered blog you would like to share with the readers):
Have you read Caroline’s ?

No words needed (favorite photo or picture):

100_5053 Our girls Pre-Camp performance for the families.

 

Lesson learned the past few days:
I am learning to tell myself, I am enough.  Gleaned from an old episode of Hannah Help Me.

On my mind:
Health concerns for my father..and for myself.  Grace and understanding in the situation with my niece and nephew.  Church opportunity for service.

Devotionals, Scripture Reading, Key Verses:

Before I jump into Crazy Love, I have a few things on my nightstand to finish up.  Reading Beth Moore’s Get Out of That Pit:  one note I made was a reminder to me that “it takes far more strength and personal fortitude to fall on our knees and submit to God than to stand and fight our endless battles for significance” (p.34).

 

 

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It really is hard to rent, you always feel like you can’t make your own. Luckily for us at this new house, we were told we can paint whatever, remove wallpaper and do whatever we want, thank goodness. I chuckled at your green front door mat that no one but you likes hahaha

Comment by diarysahm

our paint choices were given to us in the form of leftover cans of an off whie and a pale mint. ick!

Comment by mindingmomma

Moving furniture around is a good way to freshen a room without paint. My son was into Battlebots as well. I’m wondering if they missed the finale since we weren’t home on Sunday evening (when it airs around here). I’ll have to check into that. Hope you have a wonderful week!

Comment by jehdld

Yes I like to move things around each season, but with the living room setup of stairs, the window, and opening to dining room I am very limited of where things can go. sigh. I just nee to get new curtains and maybe a new bedspread for fall to change the look of things. thanks for stopping by!

Comment by mindingmomma

Renting and home decorating can be challenging. Great post and have a wonderful week!

Comment by Renee




Leave a Reply

