Minding momma


Friends
August 5, 2015, 2:45 am
Filed under: Life

So I was reading some older posts on friendships from one of my favorite bloggers and came across this quote: “If someone doesn’t love you for who you are but instead wants you to be who they want you to be, that’s a good sign that they aren’t a true friend

and it really set me to thinking about the people in my life who are treating me this way. I’ve been on this mission to figure how to be a better friend, when all along, it wasn’t me at all. It was me trying to be a people-pleaser, and not having a true give and take friendship. The post on Money Saving Mom goes on to talk about things that show whether you are being taken advantage of, or are in a true friendship. She has a companion post that talks about friendships being an encouragement. And having a small, close “inner circle” of friends you would give anything for, and who would do the same for you. Those who would sacrifice their time, money, and resources at the drop of a hat for you, and you for them. With no guilt, no strings, no mention of what I’ve done for you or what have you done for me.

I have a handful of people I can truly call friends, and I am certain I do not tell them often enough how much they bring to my life. I hope to change that before the end of the year. And I have a host of the first type of ‘friend’ the quote describes, who are not authentic, not true friends. And that will be harder to change than saying thank you.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

