Minding momma


WIP Challenge
January 8, 2016, 6:29 pm
Filed under: crafted

My local quilt store, Quilter’s Depot, is having a WIP Challenge this year, and I got up the nerve to sign up for it.   Here’s what it’s about:

What: Bring a list of all your Works in Progress. Register them for $10. You have until the end of November to submit
a picture of your finished project. It will then be checked off. Add projects for $1 through out the year to try and win a
great prize! Finish each project and bring it in for it’s photo be taken and checked off the list! Finish the most projects
and win a $50 gift card from the depot!
Every month you will have a Tuesday night and a Saturday to come in and work on your projects and get 10% off any
supplies you need for those registered projects. We will be keeping track!
Then on the Second Saturday in December, we will have a Show N Tell and award the gift card.

Doesn’t that sound like fun!  I know I don’t have a chance to win the most done, since I only handsew, and one a week or even two weeks is out of the question for me….but I like the fun idea and the incentive to get my dreams and stash into actual quilts.  So, here’s my list:

  1. Quilt for child with cancer.  Finish the rows, quilt to fleece backing.
  2. Row by row designed by my son for his sister.  Quilt and bind.
  3. Star Wars quilt of unknown pattern for my son.  Design, cut, sew, etc
  4. Finish my husbands’ stadium quilt.  Just needs tied off and bound.
  5. Make the twins’ Minnie Mouse quilt.  Like #3, I have the material and that’s as far as I’ve gotten on it.
  6. Find and finish my Christmas quilt.  Find being the operative word,  It’s in a box, somewhere, with the Christmas stuff.
  7. Ocean top bordered and quilted.  Just for fun lap quilt for us that needs completed.
  8. Quilt of Valor lap blanket for the local VA.  Have the stash to make it, just need to get on it.

That’s way too much to accomplish in a year, but I am in various stages of all of them.  I will chronicle the progress of each one, plus I’ll have to toss in any new baby quilts that come along this year too.  Hope you’ll keep me to task if it gets to be the middle of the month and I haven’t posted on them yet!

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

