Minding momma


It’s finished!
February 19, 2016, 9:25 am
Filed under: crafted, Devotion, Life

In the wee hours this morning, I put in the final hand stitches on my cancer quilt for the little girl.

This quilt uses a variety of red prints gathered from many stores, and the Hello Kitty fabrics are from JoAnn’s. The star fleece was a scrap left over in my stash.   I hand stitched it all, and hand quilted it, and attached the binding, yup, all by hand.  It has taken me longer than I wanted it too, as I lost my mojo somewhere in the middle.  Winter blahs and all.

But today it is done, the first wip off my challenge list at my lqs, Quilter’s Depot.  And I am happy to deliver it this weekend after a quick wash.  I’m hoping the fleece on the back is super snuggly for this little girl, and that all the prayers I sewed in bring her a miraculous recovery.

WP_20160219_09_17_47_Pro WP_20160219_09_17_56_Pro WP_20160219_09_18_04_Pro

Linking up to Confessions of a Fabric Addict and Crazy Mom Quilts.

Linked to NTT and Fabric Tuesday!

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I know Hello Kitty and prayers will be comforting to a sick little girl. Great finish!

Comment by Paige @ Quilted Blooms

Thank you for stopping by! I sure hope it brings her a smile or two.

Comment by mindingmomma

Any little girl will love Hello Kitty. What a cheerful quilt for her!

Comment by Mari

Thanks for saying hi! I think its a stretch not being pink, but it’s what I had on hand, and it matches her bow!

Comment by mindingmomma

What a sweet quilt. The red is bright and cheerful, and a warm color, too. I hope the little girl overcomes the cancer.

Was it difficult to hand quilt with the fleece backing? I’ve only quilted with cotton on both front and back.

Thanks for sharing.

Comment by Nancy

That is a gorgeous Hello Kitty quilt and so precious that you stitched in prayers! I’ll say one too! You are definitely an earth angel!

Comment by Sheri




Leave a Reply

