Minding momma


My sons’ quilt 1 & giveaway
July 6, 2016, 6:05 am
Filed under: crafted

He selected the fabrics, I added a choice of my own, and now I’ve begun.

Here’s the cutting done.  Large 6.5″ center blocks of the prints…

center blocks

And the cornerstones and borders – an ombre I picked up for another project and didn’t use, but don’t have enough of for the entire quilt…do I add the solid yellow and red my son chose or buy more of the grey?

borders and corners

Now for the fun part.  Answer the above question for a chance to win my Star Wars scraps.  I have about 20 assorted charm squares (between 5″ and 6″ cut) of the four prints you see above. 

Winner chosen by random, entries until 7/15/16 midnight Eastern.  USA only please.

Linking up to Crazy Mom Quilts, Confessions of a Fabric Addict, and My Quilt Infatuation.

22 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I would use what you son picked out

Comment by Jessica c

He picked some very bright solids, it could look quite interesting with the grey! Thank for commenting and good luck.

Comment by mindingmomma

I would give him his choice the yellow and red.

Comment by Jan Altomare

He would probably like that. Thanks for stopping by and good luck!

Comment by mindingmomma

Looks like it’s going to be a very cool quilt. Maybe use the solids he picked sparingly?

Comment by georgiagirlquilts

I am thinking of trying to do some diagonal lines with his colors and keep the rest neutral so it isn’t screaming bold. Thanks for your suggestion and good luck!

Comment by mindingmomma

I’d add the yellow and red. Thanks for the chance.

Comment by anudge

Seems to be the consensus! Thanks for the comment and good luck!

Comment by mindingmomma

Yes, I think go with what your son picked – I’m sure it will look great! You could even mix it with the grey and do star quilt block for the corners! 🙂 Hannah

Comment by Hannah @unsophisticated+jejune

My son seems to be the favorite one here! Thanks for stopping by and good luck.

Comment by mindingmomma

I would use the yellow and gray. Love Star Wars. Been around since my 40 year old son was a kid. Now my grandsons love it.

Comment by Pat K

Oh, a new idea, thanks for that! And good luck!

Comment by mindingmomma

The yellow and red your son chose, because even though the gray would look better, he actually took the time to choose.

Comment by pennyguglie

He has always been my color child, going with me to quilt stores and matching prints to my focus fabric. Thanks and good luck!

Comment by mindingmomma

Use the red and yellow, it’ll look great!

Comment by Karen

I know it will be bright in any event! Thanks for commenting and good luck!

Comment by mindingmomma

I would work the yellow and red in as light sabers. Can’t wait to see the finished quilt.

Comment by Erlinda

That might be above my skill level, but a great idea. Thanks and good luck.

Comment by mindingmomma

I’d go with the red/gold as your son suggests.
I would love those scraps for my gamer son’s to-be quilt!
tvonzalez at gmail.com

Comment by tvonzalez

Thanks for stopping by and good luck!

Comment by mindingmomma

I think it depends how bright your main squares are going to be – if they’re very colourful I’d stick with the grey ombre – it’s beautiful fabric

Comment by Carie

Thanks and good luck!

Comment by mindingmomma




Leave a Reply

