Minding momma


Pinterest Inspired
September 23, 2016, 1:24 am
Filed under: crafted

copycat-snowman I saw the cutest mini snowman quilt on Pinterest and knew I wanted to make it into a mug rug for my dads’ wife for Christmas.  I would love to have used little buttons for the eyes, but I had none on hand, and wanted it completed the night I worked on it, so cross-eyed he is.  All pieced, outline quilted, then bound by hand.

How do you give credit for inspiration?  Do you show the original and then how you changed it?  Do you give a link or just a shout out?  Do you bother to show the inspiration?

 

EDITED:  Thanks for the answer on how to give the link for credit of the inspiration piece!

 

Linking up with Confessions of a Fabric Addict and Crazy Mom Quilts.  And A Quilting Reader’s Garden. And I Heart Naptime.  And OhScrap!

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I usually give the link when I mention where I got the inspiration. Thanks for coming by and leaving a comment. I updated the post and the link is now there at WIPs Be Gone.

Comment by anudge

First of all, I love your snowman block. Second, as a newish blogger and quilter, I have wondered what the protocol is as well. I usually share the inspiration with a photo and link back to the blogger/site. After it’s published, I usually contact the author, thank her for inspiring me, let her know about my post and that I linked right back to her. As I update my project, I continue link back to the original post. Thus far this protocol has been successful.

Again, your snowman is lovely and I don’t see the “cross eyes!” 🙂

Comment by Patricia

I love that mug rug. He is adorable and what a great idea.

Comment by Cathie J

That’s a lovely mug rug, and will make a delightful gift.

Comment by Marly

Very cute indeed!

Comment by CARLA F THERRIEN

Cute snowman mug rug. You’ve done great by providing the link to the inspiration. I seldom give credit on blogs unless the pattern is unique. Traditional patterns are all over the place and most would not be considered copyrighted, which is the issue behind the concept of giving credit.

Comment by Bonnie in Va

SO cute… such a great gift idea!

Comment by Quilter Kathy




Leave a Reply

