Minding momma


Looking towards spring
March 4, 2017, 1:28 am
Filed under: crafted, misc., Wifedom

vintage-daffodil-image-graphicsfairyDaffodils.  Last weeks warm weather made them sprout up in our neighborhood.  This weeks snow will freeze them.  Either way, it is a nod to spring approaching.

Now I am generally not one to celebrate Lent.  Not in a sacrificial way, more of an anticipatory longing…if you have questions about my faith you can email me, I don’t want to put anyone off here.  But this year, I got busted big time on my fabric purchasing habits.  See, in our dining room, we don’t have formal china, so our hutch is the homework center.  Except for the shelf behind the doors at the bottom, I commandeered that area for fabric.  Earlier this week, hubs went looking for some markers and opened the stash door.  I have envelopes in there of fabric I ordered but haven’t even opened yet!!!  He suggested in that sweet, sickly way husbands have, that I might not buy any fabric until I make three quilts.

I was embarrassed to have been caught, then I really got into the cabinet, and realized he had a point.  I have decided, with his wise guidance, that I am giving up online fabric shopping for the Lenten season.  I hate to pass up a great deal, so I have been deleting emails from my favorite companies without opening them, and skipping over the online yard sale posts on my facebook feed.  It is hard!  I have quite a bit of non-matching fabrics and especially charm packs stored in that cabinet.  My plan is over the next three weeks, to weed it out, or decide on a pattern and yardage needs for each project.  Then, after Easter, and after I finish off the many projects I am trying to juggle right now, that I start one of these cabinet projects once a quarter.

Remember, I am a hand sewer.  So a three month time frame is not out of the question.  I may not get everything finished in a year.  And I may start other projects as I take classes at my LQS and as I am inspired by things I see.  But it is a plan.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

